2018 Baseball
Record: 0-0 Home: 0-0 Away: 0-0 AAC: 0-0
Point News
News Photo
Left: John Tyler, AAC Coach of the Year. Right: 2017 Point Baseball Team, AAC regular-season champions
Baseball - Wed, May 3, 2017

WEST POINT, Ga. – Eighteen Point University baseball players and the head coach received 24 Appalachian Athletics Conference (AAC) awards for their work on the field, the classroom and in the community.  For a complete list of the AAC baseball awards, please click on this link.


Head coach John Tyler was named AAC Coach of the Year after his first season in the position.  Tyler, who served as a Point's assistant coach for seven seasons, led the Skyhawks to their fifth consecutive AAC Tournament and a tie for the AAC regular-season title with Tennessee Wesleyan University, with both teams posting 20-7 conference records.  In the May 2 final regular-season NAIA National Top 25 Coaches' Poll, Point earned the number 25 position, the Skyhawks' first time in the poll since 2015.  Point put together winning streaks of seven consecutive games and five games and won four in a row twice this season.


Junior catcher Justin Morhardt from Bryan College (Tenn.) was named AAC Player of the Year and his teammate Wade Weinburger was named AAC Freshman of the Year.  Senior right-hander Enrique Zamora from Reinhardt University (Ga.) received AAC Pitcher of the Year honors, and junior third baseman Collin Ridout from Tennessee Wesleyan University was named Newcomer of the Year.


ALL-CONFERENCE SELECTIONS:  Senior right-hander Payne Kosobucki (Midland, GA) and junior right-hander Jesse Ford (Phenix City, AL) earned All-AAC First Team recognition, and senior left-hander Ty Plumley (Locust Grove, GA), senior first baseman Christian Cabral (Santo Domingo, Dom. Rep.) and junior catcher Juan Reyes (Santo Domingo, Dom. Rep.) were selected for the All-AAC Second Team.


CHAMPIONS OF CHARACTER AWARD:  Senior catcher Blake Lorow (Sharpsburg, GA) received an AAC Champions of Character Award.  The Champions of Character Award is presented to a student-athlete from each conference member, who best demonstrates the NAIA Champions of Character core values of integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship, and servant leadership.  Lorow batted .253 with two doubles, one home run and nine RBI and also earned one pitching save and allowed no runs in eight innings of relief.

GOLD GLOVE AWARDS:  Cabral, Reyes and senior centerfielder Bryce Jay (Gardendale, AL) also earned AAC Gold Glove Awards.  Cabral, who also received an AAC Gold Glove in 2015, committed just one error in 379 total fielding chances (.997) at first base and had 19 assists and participated in 31 double plays.  Reyes committed five errors and three passed balls in 147 total chances behind the plate (.966) and threw out seven of the 23 runners who tried to steal against him.  Jay committed no errors in 80 outfield fielding chances in centerfield, had four assists and was involved in two double plays, and also hit .255 with three doubles, 16 runs scored and 19 RBI.


AAC ALL-ACADEMIC TEAM:  A school-record 14 Skyhawks received AAC All-Academic Team honors along with 54 other players from the nine other AAC schools.  Lorow, Plumley and Reyes and senior outfielder Jeffery Ginn (Newnan, GA) and junior infielder Brett Black (Douglasville, GA) made the Academic team for the second consecutive season.


Senior pitcher Jacob Ammons (Ellerslie, GA); sophomore pitcher Tanner Davis (Brunswick, GA); senior pitcher Sahir Fersobe (Santo Domingo, Dom. Rep.); sophomore infielder Kyle Kelly (Thomaston, GA); senior infielder Justin Neighbors (West Point, GA); senior rightfielder Anthony Padron (Columbus, GA); senior pitcher Brandon Spivey (Macon, GA); sophomore pitcher Jake Stowers (Rockdale, GA) and junior outfielder Myles Wilson (Marietta, GA) each earned their first All-AAC Academic awards.


STATS FOR ALL-CONFERENCE TEAM SELECTIONS:  Kosobucki went 8-4 this season with 70 strikeouts and just 15 walks and a 4.25 earned-run average in 84-2/3 innings pitched.  He was 6-2 with 46 strikeouts and 11 walks in his last 51-2/3 innings, covering eight starts.  Kosobucki earned All-AAC second team honors as a junior in 2016.


Ford was 3-2 in his long-relief role, recording three saves, and also started three times, including a nine-inning complete-game victory over Reinhardt.  Ford struck out 29 and walked 13 and had a 2.18 ERA in 45-1/3 innings.


Plumley was 5-3 overall and 5-2 in AAC starts this season and struck out 49 and walked 24 in 67-2/3 innings and had a 4.52 ERA.  Plumley was 5-1 in his last nine starts and struck out 36 and walked 14 and had a 3.66 ERA in his last 46-2/3 innings.


Cabral, who finished the regular season with an 11-game hitting streak, ranks second on the team with a .329 average, 12 doubles and 31 RBI and shares the team lead with five home runs.  He is batting .409 (18-for-44) with four doubles, two home runs and nine RBI during his hitting streak.


Reyes, who was an All-AAC second team selection last season as well, also has five home runs and leads the team with a .377 average and 14 doubles and has driven in 20 runs.  He has hit safely in his last five games and 13 of his last 14 with a .463 average (25-for-54), 13 RBI, eight doubles and four home runs in those 14 games.


AAC TOURNAMENT: Point (32-19), the AAC regular-season co-champion with Tennessee Wesleyan (35-18) and the number two seed, begins competition at the AAC Baseball Championships, Wednesday, May 3, with a 4 p.m. game against number seven-seeded Milligan College (23-27) at Hunter Wright Stadium in Kingsport, Tenn.  Tennessee Wesleyan ranks tenth in the current NAIA National Top 25 Coaches' poll, and Point ranks number 25.