2018 Men's Golf
Point News
News Photo
Point University Men's Golf Team Wins 2017 AAC Tournament Championship; Showing off the Banner
Men's Golf - Wed, Apr. 26, 2017

WEST POINT, Ga. – Point University clinched the 2017 Appalachian Athletics Conference Tournament championship with a first-place finish among 11 schools at the 2017 NAIA-AAC Men's Golf Direct Qualifier, hosted by Reinhardt University, April 24-25, at the Governor's Towne Club in Acworth, Ga.


As AAC tournament champion, Point automatically qualifies for the 68th Annual NAIA National Men's Golf Championships, May 16-19, which will hosted by St. Ambrose University at TPC Deere Run in Moline, Ill.  Point, which ranks number 16 in the Bushnell Golfweek NAIA Coaches' Poll for April 21, won its first AAC Tournament championship and qualified for its first NAIA National Championship appearance.  Milligan College won the team regular-season title.


Point is coached by Steven Paine, who received his first AAC Coach of the Year Award.  Originally from Cape Town, South Africa, Paine is completing his second season as head men's golf coach at Point and is a 2012 graduate and former All-American honorable mention golfer from Columbus State University, where he also earned his Master's degree in Business Administration and served as graduate assistant coach in 2012-13.


Francisco de Oliveira (JR/Algarve, Portugal) compiled the lowest combined totals in the three regular-season events and received AAC Player of the Year honors.  De Oliviera won the AAC Fall Invitational, tied for second in the AAC Spring Invitational and placed eighth in the NAIA-AAC Direct Qualifier with a 54-hole total of 222.  De Oliviera won two AAC Player of the Week award and one NAIA National Player of the Week award during the 2017 spring season.


The All-Appalachian Athletics Conference first and second team members were selected on the basis of a combination of their scores from three regular-season events, the fall and spring AAC Invitationals and the NAIA-AAC Direct Qualifier.  A player must have competed in the top five for his respective team at all three tournaments (126 total holes).  Point's Francisco de Oliviera earned All-AAC first team honors in addition to his Player of the Year Award.  The first team also included Ben Dulin from Reinhardt, the Direct Qualifier runner-up; Nikolas Luken from SCAD-Atlanta; Evan Ball from Tennessee Wesleyan; and Cody Housley from Tennessee Wesleyan


The All-AAC second team included Josh Gambrell and Kodey Popplewell from Milligan College;

Connor Brown (SR/Bogart, GA), who tied for third at the Direct Qualifier, Kameron Williams from Reinhardt; and Daniel Wieck from St. Andrews University, the team runner-up.


The All-Direct Qualifier Tournament team included individual champion Joe Hurn from St. Andrews, who also qualified for the NAIA National Championship Tournament; Ben Dulin from Reinhardt; Point's Connor Brown; and Evan Ball and Cody Housley from Tennessee Wesleyan.


Brayton Gineris (JR/McDonough, GA) received Point's Champions of Character Award for men's golf, which is presented to student-athletes from each of the 11 AAC member schools who best demonstrate the NAIA Champions of Character core values of integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship, and servant leadership. 


The Appalachian Athletics Conference also announced its 24-member All-Academic team which included three Point University Skyhawks.  In addition to his Player of the Year and All-AAC first team awards, Francisco de Oliviera was named to the AAC All-Academic Team along with Brayton Gineris, and Jacob Ellison (SR/Milton, GA).