2017-18 Men's Lacrosse
Record: 0-0 Home: 0-0 Away: 0-0 AAC: 0-0
Point News
News Photo
Men's Lacrosse - Thu, Apr. 20, 2017

WEST POINT, Ga. – One Point University men's lacrosse player received All-Appalachian Athletics Conference team honors, three received All-AAC second team honors, one was named to the AAC Champions of Character Team, and two Skyhawks received AAC All-Academic team recognition.


Midfielder Greg Wilson (SR/Augusta, GA) was named to the All-AAC team and midfielder William Collazo-Brown (JR/Baltimore, MD), attacker Najarri Whitehead (SR/Decatur, GA), and defender Mitchell Daniel (JR/McDonough, GA) were named to the All-AAC second team.  Wilson led the team with 35 goals and tied for first with 15 assists for 50 total points, Whitehead scored 26 goals and added six assists, Collazo-Brown netted 19 goals and contributed 15 assists, and Daniel finished the regular season with two goals, one assist, 41 ground balls, and a team-high 17 caused turnovers.


Midfielder Joshua Pedron (FR/Palm Coast, FL) was the lone Skyhawk to receive an AAC Champions of Character Award.  The Champions of Character Award is presented to a student-athlete from each of the seven men's lacrosse-playing conference members, who best demonstrate the NAIA Champions of Character core values of integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship, and servant leadership.  Pedron has played in 10 of Point's games and totaled four goals and one assist for five points and 17 ground balls.  Pedron is on track to graduate in May, 2020, with a Bachelor of Business Administration in Accounting degree and minors in Biblical Studies.


Whitehead and defender Austin Jaime (FR/Kennesaw, GA) earned AAC All-Academic Team honors for their dedication and hard work inside in the classroom as well as on the field.


The Skyhawks (7-6; 4-2 AAC) begin play as the number three seed in the AAC Men's Lacrosse Championships Friday, April 21, at 5 p.m., when they take on number two seeded the University of the Cumberlands (9-4; 5-1 AAC) in Knoxville, Tenn.  The winner advances to Saturday's championship game (12:30 p.m.) against the winner of the other semifinal matchup between number one seeded and regular-season champion Reinhardt University (12-1; 6-0 AAC) and number four seeded Tennessee Wesleyan University (5-8; 3-3 AAC) that will be played on Friday, April 21 at 7:30 p.m. in Knoxville, Tenn.