2017-18 Women's Lacrosse
Record: 0-0 Home: 0-0 Away: 0-0 AAC: 0-0
Point News
News Photo
Women's Lacrosse - Thu, Apr. 20, 2017

WEST POINT, Ga. – Four Point University women's lacrosse players received All-Appalachian Athletics Conference second team honors, one was named to the AAC Champions of Character Team, and six Skyhawks received AAC All-Academic team recognition.


Attacker and midfielder Grace Beardsley (JR/St. Augustine, FL); midfielder Dakota Overton (SO/Newnan, GA); and defenders Deija Martin (JR/Duluth, GA) and A'Miracle Winters (FR/Carrollton, GA) were named to the All-AAC second team.  Overton led the team in scoring with 22 goals and 30 total points, and had 30 ground balls, and Beardsley scored 18 goals and a team-high 11 assists for 29 points and scooped up 40 ground balls and caused 14 opponent turnovers.


Martin led Point with 55 ground balls and 26 draw controls and ranked second on the team with 18 caused turnovers, while Winters led the team with 26 caused turnovers and finished second with 25 draw controls and 23 ground balls.


Attacker and midfielder Cathy Slusher (JR/St. Augustine, FL) received an AAC Champions of Character Award.  The Champions of Character Award is presented to a student-athlete from each of the nine women's lacrosse-playing conference members, who best demonstrate the NAIA Champions of Character core values of integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship, and servant leadership.  Slusher has played in all 18 of Point's matches and totaled 18 goals and four assists for 22 points and 28 ground balls.  Slusher graduates in May, 2018, with a Bachelor of Science degree in Criminal Justice and minors in Biblical Studies.


Beardsley and Slusher also earned AAC All-Academic Team honors and join four of their teammates and 38 players from the other AAC schools on the squad.  Midfielder Alexis Coronado (JR/Jacksonville, FL); midfielder and defender Hannah Hutto (SR/Evans, GA); midfielder and defender Kristen Owens (JR/Auburn, AL); and goalie Abagail Smith (JR/Cumming, GA) all earned conference recognition for their academic work.


The number five seeded Skyhawks (7-11) were eliminated in the quarterfinal round of the AAC Women's Lacrosse Championships by the number four seed Reinhardt University (8-6) on Thursday, April 20, in Waleska, Ga.  Reinhardt now advances to a Friday semifinal game (3 p.m.) against number one seeded and regular-season champion Tennessee Wesleyan University (11-4; 8-0 AAC.  Number two Columbia College (9-6; 6-2 AAC), last season's AAC Tournament champion, meets number three seeded University of the Cumberlands (11-5; 6-2 AAC) in a Friday semifinal at 5 p.m., at Reinhardt.