2017-18 Women's Basketball
Record: 0-0 Home: 0-0 Away: 0-0 AAC: 0-0
Point News
News Photo
Left to Right: Candace Rhodes (#3); Raven Brown (#22); Alexia Manning (#24); and Deja Smith (#25)
Women's Basketball - Wed, Feb. 22, 2017

WEST POINT, Ga. – Three Point University women's basketball players earned All-Conference first or second team honors from the Appalachian Athletics Conference and nine received AAC All-Academic honors for the 2016-17 season.  For a complete list of AAC women's basketball award winners, please CLICK HERE.


Point recorded 23 wins for the second consecutive season and placed third in the AAC regular-season standings with a 16-6 record.  The Skyhawks' first game in the AAC Women's Basketball Championships takes place in the quarterfinal round, Thursday, Feb. 23, at 5:15 p.m., against number six seed Bryan College (15-14, 12-10 AAC).  The championships are hosted this season by the Kingsport Convention and Visitors Bureau at the Meadowview Conference Resort and Convention Center in Kingsport, Tenn.


The AAC All-Conference first team includes Point guard Candace Rhodes (JR/Stone Mountain, GA), who was an All-AAC second team selection as sophomore last season.  Rhodes averaged a team-best 14.2 points and also led the team with 53 three-pointers and 59 steals and passed 40 assists.


Point guard Alexia Manning (JR/Columbus, GA) received All-AAC second team honors for the second consecutive season.  She averaged 9.4 points with 29 three-pointers, 44 assists and 43 steals.  Forward Raven Brown (JR/Marietta, GA) also earned All-AAC second team recognition after averaging 10 points and a team-high 6.7 rebounds per game.


In addition, guard Deja Smith (JR/Baton Rouge, LA) received Point's Champions of Character Award for the women's basketball team.  The Champions of Character Award is presented to student-athletes from each of the AAC member schools who best demonstrate the NAIA Champions of Character core values of integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship, and student leadership.  Smith averaged 8 points and ranked second on the team with 49 three-pointers and 55 assists. 


Additionally, nine Skyhawks earned AAC All-Academic Team honors: Alexia Manning; guard Alley Fegenbush (JR/Locust Grove, GA); guard Schelbi McKenzie (SO/Stone Mountain, GA); and forward Brooke White (SR/Decatur, AL) earned Academic team recognition for the second consecutive season, and forwards Raven Brown, Sonya Adkission (JR/Lilburn, GA) and Catika Brown (JR/Lithonia, GA) and guards Brianna Jones (JR/Charlotte, NC) and Tori Robinson (SO/Stone Mountain, GA) received the honor for the first time.


Milligan College (Tenn.) earned the number one seed in the AAC Championships, Feb. 22-25, and owns two wins over Reinhardt University (Ga.), which is seeded number two, although the teams tied for the AAC regular-season title.  Reinhardt placed one first-team selection and two second teamers on the All-AAC list, and Milligan contributed two first teamers and one second-team selection.


Milligan's sophomore forward Sarah Robinson received AAC Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year honors, and forward Rebecca Cheeks from Reinhardt was selected as Freshman of the Year.  Reinhardt head coach Lindsey Huffman was named Coach of the Year.