2017-18 Men's Basketball
Record: 0-0 Home: 0-0 Away: 0-0 AAC: 0-0
Point News
News Photo
Left to Right: Hakeem Winters (#1); Chukwu Ikejiani (#4); Brendan McNeal (#12); and Chris Tyler (#22)
Men's Basketball - Wed, Feb. 22, 2017

WEST POINT, Ga. – Four Point University men's basketball players received Appalachian Athletics Conference All-Academic Team honors for the 2016-17 season.  For a complete list of AAC men's basketball award winners, please CLICK HERE.


Point University men's basketball (2-27; 1-19 AAC), coached by Darryl Slack, received the number 11 seed in the Appalachian Athletics Conference (AAC) Men's Basketball Championships and plays its first-round game against number six seed Allen University (13-15; 10-10 AAC), Wednesday, Feb. 22, at 7:30 p.m.  The championships are hosted this season by the Kingsport Convention and Visitors Bureau at the Meadowview Conference Resort and Convention Center in Kingsport, Tenn.


Guard Brendan McNeal (JR/Locust Grove, GA) received Point's Champions of Character Award for men's basketball.  The Champions of Character Award is presented to student-athletes from each of the AAC member schools who best demonstrate the NAIA Champions of Character core values of integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship, and student leadership.  McNeal averaged 2.1 points, made 3 three-pointers and passed off 37 assists in 22 games this season. 


Additionally, McNeal and forwards Chukwu Ikejani (JR/Auburn, AL) and Hakeem Winters (SO/Cartersville, GA) and guard Chris Tyler (JR/Bowral, Australia) earned Academic team recognition.


The number one ranked team in the NAIA Division II, Union College, posted records of 27-0 and 20-0 in conference and earned the number one seed in the AAC Championships.  Three Bulldogs earned All-AAC first team honors and one more was picked for the second team, and also had two players selected to the All-Defensive team.  Union's senior forward Gerrard Newby, a returning NAIA All-American, was named AAC Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, and Coach Kevin Burton received Coach of the Year recognition.


Forward Connor Zinaich from St. Andrews University was named AAC Freshman of the Year.  eceived AAC Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year honors, and forward Rebecca Cheeks from Reinhardt was selected as Freshman of the Year.  Reinhardt head coach Lindsey Huffman was named Coach of the Year.