2016-17 Men's Swimming
Point News
News Photo
AAC Award Winners: Felipe Aguilar, Francisco Santos and Megan Manning
Swimming - Tue, Feb. 14, 2017

WEST POINT, Ga. – Point University swimmers Megan Manning (SO/Deland, FL), Felipe Aguilar (JR/Bogota, Colombia) and Francisco Santos (SO/Bogota, Colombia) received Appalachian Athletics Conference (AAC) awards for the 2016-17 season.


Manning received Point's Champions of Character Award for the women's swimming team, and Aguilar received the Champions of Character Award for the men's team.  The Champions of Character Award is presented to student-athletes from each of the AAC member schools who best demonstrate the NAIA Champions of Character core values of integrity, respect, responsibility, sportsmanship, and student leadership.


Manning and Santos were named to their sports' AAC All-Academic teams, and Aguilar earned All-Conference honors with a second-place finish in the 1650-yard freestyle.  The All-Conference swimming teams are made up of student-athletes who placed first, second or third in each event.  All-Conference honors in relays are awarded to all four members of the relay team.


Manning, who currently holds seven individual school records and is part of two relay records, has qualified for four relay events for the NAIA National Swimming and Diving Championships, March 1-4, at the Columbus Aquatics Center in Columbus, Ga.  Manning joins Courteney Darrow (JR/Newnan, GA), McKenzie Dalton (FR/Dothan, AL), Katie Johnson (FR/Hebron, KY) in the 200 and 400-yard medley relays and the 200 and 400-yard freestyle relays.


Aguilar, who holds eight individual school records and is part of five relay records, has qualified for in the 400-yard individual medley, 500-yard freestyle and 1650-yard freestyle as well as all five relay events for the NAIA National Swimming and Diving Championships.


Collin Bennett (FR/Newnan, GA), Aguilar, Raichel DeFreitas (FR/Willemstad, Curacao) and Taylor Nielsen (FR/Columbus, GA) combined for a sixth-place finish in the 200-yard medley relay at the AAC Championships, Feb 9-11, and qualified for the NAIA National Championships.  Nielsen, Aguilar, Santos and DeFreitas teamed together for a fifth-place finish in the 800-yard freestyle relay and qualified for the NAIA meet.


Aguilar, Nielsen, DeFreitas and Santos later qualified for the NAIA Nationals in the 200-yard freestyle relay and Nielsen, Aguilar, DeFreitas and Santos also qualified in the 400-yard medley relay.


Point's 400-yard freestyle relay team of Nielsen, Bennett, Aguilar and DeFreitas already had qualified for nationals earlier in the season.


DeFreitas also qualified for nationals in the 50 and 100-yard freestyles and the 100-yard butterfly, and Nielsen qualified in the 200-yard freestyle.  Santos also will swim the 1650-yard freestyle at the national meet.